Twinkie Diet

The first week I was back at work I was getting what I thought was a ton of milk.  I was so happy.  Then the strangest thing happened, my son started to actually take a bottle and drinking all his milk.  So that nice 9 ounces of milk I would tote home with me at the end of the day was not enough.  Turns out he wants 12-14 ounces a day.  Yikes.

At first I started to pump more often, which only helped a little.  I was starting to stress and was becoming exhausted trying to keep up which I know did not help the situation so I had to take drastic measures.  I added Twinkies to my diet.  Yes Twinkies.  And wouldn’t you know, that did the trick :-).  Ok I think the real culprit was the fact that I was working so hard and I was not eating enough calories to keep up with his demand.  In addition to my Twinkie diet, I also starting taking Fenugreek.  However, this did not work out as well as the Twinkies.  I started producing too much milk again and now his poop was turning green from too much foremilk.  Then he sporadically started breaking out in hives which after doing some research, can be caused by the Fenugreek.  Low and behold, once I cut back on the dosage, his hives stopped.  Weird huh :-).  THEN I started spotting ever so lightly.  Upon even further research, I found that Fenugreek can cause your menstrual cycle to start.  WTF.  I do not want that.  So needless to say, Fenugreek, although it did increase my supply, was not my solution.  In the end, the Twinkies won.  Yeah!!

Side note, I have since given up the Twinkies but have added in other good high fat foods which also seem to be working.  I just really wanted Twinkies that week and it was a great excuse to eat them :-).  ANd my spotting stopped and no period.  Whew.

One response to “Twinkie Diet

  1. Hi,

    My name is Knoll Maria and I am a graduate student at Bar-Ilan University Information Science Department in Israel. For my final project, I am examining anonymity and self-disclosure in infertility blogs. The target population of the study are women bloggers who were or are going through infertility treatments and also blog about their experience. I am kindly inviting you to participate in this research study by completing the attached survey.

    The following questionnaire will require approximately 5 minutes to complete. Your response is very important to me. Your informed consent to participate in this survey is assumed by completing the survey and by submitting it. Participation is strictly voluntary and you may refuse to participate at any time. A copy of the results will be sent to you, if you choose so.

    Thank you for taking the time to assist me in my educational endeavors. If you require additional information or have questions, please contact by email.
    Click here to fill out the survey: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dHY0SC1wT0lHeEFqOGdZN3pXT3p3aHc6MQ

Leave a Reply

