Pumping at Work

I’m going to go ahead and say I am proud of myself.  4 months in, 5 weeks back at work and I am still exclusively providing my son with breast milk.  I know that I am very lucky to be able to do this.  My goal was one year so I am hoping to get that far as it is a tedious task.  Worth it but tedious.

I know that I am even more fortunate to have a private office, with blinds installed over every window for privacy.  I ran into a woman in the bathroom who was washing out pump parts.  I striked up a conversation and found out that she has to pump in the bathroom.  YUCK!  How uncomfortable and gross.  I felt so bad.  I really want to share my office but I can’t.  So, I did the next best thing and contacted management and insisted they at least put a chair in the big stall for the woman.  I mean, she either has to sit on the floor or on the toilet seat.  That is not ok. 

3 ounces down, 11 to go.  I swear my whole days revolves around getting my 14 ounces of pumped milk.  Everything else is one big blur.

One response to “Pumping at Work

  1. You go girl! I have that goal as well. And way to advocate for a fellow mom! I don’t have an office either and honestly, have no idea what I am going to do. Glad that everything is going so well for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

