Dear …

Dear (Fill the blank),

I would like to thank you very much for sending me a 1 year birthday card  and a coupon to use at your store.  Nevermind the fact that I called you to have my name removed from your list last year after my son died.  If it wasn’t for you, I never would have remembered his birthday.  I mean he was only my first-born who died in my arms three days later.  These sort of things happen to parents everyday so no biggie right? 

Oh but don’t feel bad, you aren’t the only one.  Somehow the county can’t seem to get their birth and death records straightened out so they continue to send me shot reminders.  In addition, other heartless companies, like yourself, love to send me samples of the formula I should now be switching my toddler to, even though they received the same “please remove me from your list as my son died” phone call or email.

So although I apparently have unrealistic expectations on what this automated world should be able to handle, you are not alone.  And shame on me for thinking you actually had a heart and would try extra hard to make sure these things didn’t reach me.

Sincerely,

A scarred heart.

4 responses to “Dear …

  1. Thanks ofr stopping by my blog and for the prayers. I’m sending the same to you for a healthy and happy birth! I’m so sorry for your prior loss. And GRRR! to the person who sent you a baby card. What a jerk!

  2. Ugh! That is absolutely hideous and inexcusable. So very sorry you have to deal with that. Lots of hugs.

    ICLW

  3. Here from ICLW ….

    Thanks for the comment on my blog.

    I am so sorry you have to deal with these reminders. I don’t think those stores and marketing firms have yet understood the ‘stop sending me all this’ business.

    For every child that survives, there are a few parents whose children go away far too soon. I wish you were not having to bear this and relive the loss of your son.

    I also wish you good luck with your current pregnancy. May your son come to you healthy, happy and safe.

Leave a Reply

