He smiled

My husband has been trying very hard to distance himself from this pregnancy.  Not because he doesn’t love me or the baby but because he doesn’t want to get hurt again.  I know that everyone grieves in their own way so I don’t say too much but part of me wants to slap him across the face and say suck it up.  I’m the one who has no choice but to get emotionally and physically attached so guess what buddy, so do you.  But I don’t.  I just let him have his space and let him deal the best he knows how.

But anyway, he loves hippos.  In fact, we just happened to be watching a show the other night on hippos that were imported into Columbia and the measures they go through to save them.  The next day I was in Baby Gap (why the hell they make you shop there for maternity clothes is beyond me) when something on the baby sale rack caught my eye.  At first I just stood there staring at the white onesie when all of a sudden it dawned on me.  It was a hippo and I bought it.

I was hesitant to show it to him as we both kind of agreed we would not buy anything for the baby this time in case something went south again and I would be faced with the daunting task of returning all those items that were purchased specifically for that baby.  ut I bought it anyway.  I thought, well if we can’t use, I’ll donate it.   I showed it to him last night and he actually lit up and said hey that’s cool.  It brought a tear to my eye.

Oh another note, the baby smiled too.  I got a perfect 3D shot of him grimacing from ear to ear.  My clinic just happens to have 3D and 4D and often hooks me up because I think they feel bad for me, I’ll take it.

5 responses to “He smiled

  1. Hi from ICLW and thanks for stopping by my blog! That’s so exciting to see your little one smile! Wishing you nothing but the best with this pregnancy!

  2. very cool – both things
    the connection moment with your hubby and the precious baby smile 🙂

  3. Hi from ICLW. I’m treading the “not wanting to get hurt” line. Keeping everything crossed for you

  4. Hi from ICLW – I completely get the “not wanting to get hurt” situation. I’ve yet to get a BFP since our loss in December but I know that we both especially my husband will be conservative about our excitement.

    I think a smile on your baby’s face is a good sign! I wish you lots of health and happiness with this pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

