Heartbeat

We heard the heartbeat.  146.  Not bad.  Waiting for confirmation of a heartbeat is really a stressful thing.  Whether it’s looking at the u/s screen and waiting to catch a glimpse of it flickering or waiting for the nurse to find the right spot on your belly with the doppler.  Fortunately, the two minutes it took for the nurse to find the HB with the doppler didn’t freak me out since I knew she was in the wrong spot.  I carry very low, and I mean low.  I learned that from the first pregnancy and from my several u/s I’ve already had done this time around.   I told her to go very low but of course she didn’t.  When I yanked my pants down even lower, basically exposing the top of my bikini line (it’s kept trim so yes it is low) she was almost a tad surprised.  But sure enough, she had to go all the way down almost to my pubic bone to hear.  She then commented, oh wow, you really did mean low didn’t you.  Yes I did.  Unlike my normal self, I had no questions.  I just want this pregnancy to hurry up.  It does seem to be going by quickly, probably since I have weekly appointments but not quickly enough.  December seems so stinking far away.

7 responses to “Heartbeat

  1. congrats!
    how many weeks?

  2. Glad bub’s heart is beating away!

    Happy ICLW!

    Wishing you all the best for your pregnancy! xx

  3. Congrats on your pregnancy and hearing the heartbeat! That’s huge!! Wishing you all the best!

  4. St. Elsewhere

    We know our bodies better than those u/s technicians.

    Congrats on the beautiful heartbeat and all. Take Care and I hope the baby will come to you safe and healthy in December.

    iclw #36

Leave a Reply

