NIAW

Well, I took a big step today and added a twibbon on my facebook page to show my support for National Infertility Awareness Week.  I know I have to embrace this disease in order to get awareness out there but it’s hard.  I’m a private person and letting people into my personal hell is not something I do well.  But, I want coverage.  Not just for me but for others who can not afford to move onto the next step and in order to get coverage, you have to raise awareness.  So I did it.  Only a few friends know about my struggle, so I’m hoping the rest will silently support me by adding the twibbon to their page and not ask me questions.  At least this year.  Maybe next year I will get braver and bring awareness to my job but for now, this is a good start.

5 responses to “NIAW

  1. Hello from ICLWland! That is so wonderful! You have inspired me!

  2. Good for you! I have just re-joined FB after a two month break…too much baby stuff, it’s so hard.

    • It’s funny you said that. My friend and I gave up facebook for a month for that same reason. I don’t go on it very often but it was real quick to add the twibbon and then I logged off. The baby stuff is too much to handle.

  3. Hi, I’m here from ICLW and read thru a bunch of our posts. You have a really unique style. I like it.
    I’ve not wanted to involve most of the people that I know in our journey either. I mean, I wouldn’t be telling them about my intimate moment to start a family, so why is our struggle any of their business? But there is something to be said about breaking down the ignorance. More often than not, the comments I have received haven’t been intended to be hurtful, they are just ignorant.
    I thought it was a big deal when I ‘liked’ the resolve page on Facebook, like certainly everyone would know. The twibbon seems interesting, but I haven’t brought myself to do it. I don’t know how to respond to the questions, you know?
    Congratulations on your pregnancy. We are just 2 weeks ahead of you following our first ivf. It all feels so tenuous to me, like I’m not sure that I can believe that its real.
    Wishing you all the best as your journey continues.
    -Foxy

    • I struggle with breaking down the ignorance and my privacy everyday. It is so hard since IF isn’t like any other disease where people are sympathetic about it. They are more indifferent and unless it affects them, they either don’t care or they try but end up insulting us instead. No one on the outside can win :-). I liked Resolve on FB too and no one seemed to notice. And I dont think anyone noticed my twibbon either so I think I’m ok with it being there. I took the step and that makes me feel better. Congrats to you too. My biggest tip for you is to watch our for pre-term labor and visit March of Dimes for pregnancy tips. I’m not sure if you saw my other post but I have now known 2 people to suffer my fate and it is devastating and I don’t want it to happen to anyone else. Good luck and challenge those docs on everything. Don’t be shy!

Leave a Reply

